Leeds Festival round-up: Saturday 23 August

Saturday at Leeds was a little quieter for me – I saw seven acts in total, one of which was unplanned.  The weather was fairly good, with only a couple of heavy showers throughout the day which were, thankfully, easy to avoid.  Here are the photos I snapped:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

G E R A R D W A Y ★★★☆☆

Some of Gerard’s new songs sounded pretty decent, and I found myself tapping my foot along to them.  However, some of them seemed to miss their target for me, and I think I would need to listen to them again to be able to gauge if buying his solo album would be a good choice.

R E D F A N G ★★★☆☆

I didn’t plan on watching Red Fang, but when it started to rain I decided to camp in the NME/Radio 1 Stage until La Dispute came on.  I had no idea what to expect from these guys, but their live performance was good and I enjoyed their songs.  I’ll definitely be checking out their music now that I’m home.

L A D I S P U T E ★★☆☆☆

I expected big things from La Dispute, considering how vocal their fanbase is on social media, however I found their live performance really disappointing.  The vocals from Jordan were seriously lacking, and even though the rest of the band performed well I wouldn’t recommend seeing them live.  Also, Jordan gave himself a bloody lip after swinging the microphone into his mouth – not a particularly good omen.

D E A F H A V A N A ★★★★☆

I also expected big things from Deaf Havana, and unlike La Dispute these guys really delivered.  They had a great energy and stage presence, and the vocals were spot on throughout the set.

M A L L O R Y K N O X ★★★★☆

Mallory Knox were absolutely brilliant.  They played a nice mix of heavy and slower songs, as well as songs from both their previous album Signals and upcoming LP Asymmetry, out in October.  Mikey’s vocals were strong throughout, and I don’t think any member of the band (excluding drummer Dave, of course) stayed still for more than a couple of seconds throughout the performance – I could really tell that they were excited to be on stage.

T W I N A T L A N T I C ★★★★☆

After hearing the Scottish four piece perform live previously I didn’t have particularly high expectations for them, because they’ve performed a few lower-than-average gigs in the past.  Their performance on the NME/Radio 1 Stage, however, surprised me in how good it was.  Sam’s vocals were on point throughout, and the band were really good at getting the crowd excited.  I will definitely have to invest in their latest album.

E N T E R S H I K A R I ★★★★☆

Enter Shikari really know how to put on a show.  They played a good mix of older and new songs, as well as a preview of their latest song The Anaesthetist.  Drummer Robert’s “I met God, she’s black” t-shirt was a nice touch, as was Rou’s denouncing of racism, homophobia, sexism and misogyny between songs.

What were your Saturday highlights?  Let me know in the comments or on Twitter!

Currently listening to: Homesick (Acoustic Version)A Day To Remember

One thought on “Leeds Festival round-up: Saturday 23 August

Join the conversation